top of page

Rev. Dr. Martin
Luther King Scholarship Awards


Columbus/Bartholomew Branch 3071


About the Scholarship

Annually, the Columbus/Bartholomew branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) awards scholarships for high school students and scholarships for continuing education students residing in Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings, and Jefferson counties. The scholarships are presented to the selected recipients at the annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King event.

High School Award applicants must be a graduating high school senior and have an acceptance letter from a qualifying institution.

Continuing Education Award applicants must be a current or returning college student, or entering college not directly from high school, and must be currently enrolled or have acceptance letters from a qualifying institution.

Application requirements typically include a personal narrative and 300 – 500 word essay on a theme determined by the selection committee

Qualifying institutions:

  • Ivy Tech Community College

  • Indiana University – Purdue University Columbus

  • Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis

  • Indiana University Bloomington

Questions? Email us at

bottom of page